2019 will mark the thirteenth year that Haystack Mountain School of Crafts will convene a summer conference to look at craft in a broader context. This event is an important part of the work we do at the school, and supports our belief in creating an environment that values reflective thinking within an inclusive and creative community.

Craft and Legacy: Writing a History, Preserving a Field
July 7-11, 2019

The 2019 Haystack Summer Conference* is presented in collaboration with the Center for Craft, and designed to address some of the most vital questions facing the preservation and legacy of the field of American Craft, through a series of dynamic lectures, panel discussions, and group conversations. Building on the Center for Craft’s 2014 Craft Think Tank findings on the legacy of the American Studio Craft movement, this conference is organized from three related perspectives of artists, collectors, and museums/cultural institutions, and will bring together eighteen speakers to serve as models for developing best practices in addressing larger questions of legacy and fostering an expanded resource network for colleagues from across the country.

Major support for the 2019 conference is provided by the Windgate Foundation.


Tuition                               $490

Room & Board

Single with bath        $875
limited availability

Double with bath      $600

Quad with bath          $530

Double .                       $395
near central washroom

Triple                            $245
near central washroom

Dorm                             $195
near central washroom

Day Student                 $165
rate includes all meals


*A complete lineup of presenters, schedule, and registration information will be available in February.


For more information or to be added to our conference mailing list contact Haystack.

Past conference presenters and workshop leaders:

Tanya Aguiñiga
Sandra Alfoldy
Siemon Allen
Nora Atkinson
Abby Barrows
Dan Beachy-Quick

Paulus Berensohn
Christina Bertoni
John Bielenberg
Nancy Blum
Meredith Brickell

Laura Brown
Rick Brown
Judith Burton
Akiko Busch
Kendall Buster
Robert Campbell
Jamie Carpenter
Alison Chase
Sonya Clark
Sara Clugage

Matthew Crawford
Erik Demaine
Martin Demaine
Andrea Dezö
Susie Ganch

Charles Garoian
Pascale Gatzen

Neil Gershenfeld
Saul Griffith
Sabrina Gschwandtner
Diana Guerrero-Maciá
Meredith Hall
Del Harrow
Molly Hatch
Ayumi Horie

Laura Hosaluk
Michael Hosaluk
Peter Houk
Tim Ingold
Jeanne Jaffe
Ole Jensen
Daniel Johnston
Jamie Johnston
Tom Joyce

Sarah K. Khan

Maira Kalman
Janet Koplos
Jack Lenor Larsen
Liz Lerman
Faythe Levine
Pam Longobardi
Carole Frances Lung

Ellen Lupton
Lydia Matthews
Pashon Murray
David McFadden

John McQueen
Nathalie Miebach
Amon Millner

Michael G. Moore
Stephen Nachmanovitch
Arturo O’Farrill
Michael O’Malley
Sheila Pepe

Jeanne Quinn
Ronald Rael
Dr. Darren J. Ranco

Rowland Ricketts
Brian Rotman
Paul Sacaridiz
Judith Schaechter
Warren Seelig
Ezra Shales
Pradeep Sharma
Nanda Soderberg

Jenni Sorkin
Kim R. Stafford
Michael Strand
Susan S. Szenasy
Jeanine Thompson
Jacob Tonski
Matthew Trimble
Allan Wexler

Namita Gupta Wiggers
Anne J. Wilson
Frank Wilson
Joe Wood
Lily Yeh
Amit Zoran


For more information or to be added to our conference mailing list contact Haystack.