In 2006 Haystack purchased the former Blue Heron Gallery and adjacent home with a generous bequest from longtime Haystack trustee, Charlie Gailis. Built circa 1850, the property was most recently owned by the late Mary Nyburg, a Haystack Trustee, advocate and friend. Prior to that, the property was formerly owned by Haystack Life Trustee and friend, Jane Weiss (now Jane Weiss Garrett). Jane originally renovated the barn to house her gallery, Timeless Designs, which also featured work of Haystack faculty.
The barn was winterized to create a 760 sq. ft. flexible space for exhibitions, workshops, lectures, and community gatherings and the house now serves as the permanent offices for the Haystack staff. Renovations have included an addition, which connects the barn to the main house and provides added storage space, as well as a handicapped accessible bathroom. Additional funding for these renovations were donated by Eleanor and Sam Rosenfeld. Subsequently, the windows in the gallery have been covered with UV film.
Haystack is committed to a broad series of community programs through its Center for Community Programs; initiatives that include exhibitions and other community based residencies and workshops. The Center provides a central place for planning, organizing, and implementing these programs.